Colleges With the Most Heisman Trophy Winners

The Heisman Chase Began in 1935 and since then certain schools have emerged to gain more than their fair share of the Heisman hardware.  Notre Dame, Ohio State, Oklahoma and USC have been top Heisman Trophy producers with a long line of players that helped those schools claim national championships.  Except for a stable of running backs that enabled USC to gain a stronghold on the award, the trophy has been dominated by schools from the Midwest.  Oklahoma’s back to back Heisman producing seasons by Baker Mayfield (2017) and Kyle Murray (2018) have boosted the Sooners to the top of the list of school’s bringing home the stiff-armed trophy.

Colleges with most Heisman Winners
The Heisman won by Oklahoma's Kyler Murray vaulted OU in a tie for 1st place among the Heisman elite.
College Football Jerseys
Gear Up For Supporting Your Favorite Team With Jerseys and More
Colleges without a Heisman Winner
Discover the major colleges still seeking their first Heisman Trophy winner


Top Heisman Trophy Producing Schools

The colleges listed below have at least two winners of college football’s top individual award.

Notre Dame7
Ohio State7
Florida 3
Florida State3
Texas A&M2

Heisman Trophy Race Trends

When looking at trends impacting future Heisman standings, insight on how some of the leading schools have fared in recent years may shed some light on what some colleges may emerge as a leader in the Heisman Chase overall standings. 

Some schools at the top of the pack have not had a player win or a candidate emerge in recent years, while Oklahoma has gained momentum with back-to-back winners.

The Last time this leading school produced a Heisman winner

  • Notre Dame – Tim Brown 1987
  • Oklahoma – Kyler Murray 2018
  • Ohio State – Troy Smith 2006
  • USC – Matt Leinhart 2004
  • Nebraska – Eric Crouch 2001
  • Army – Pete Dawkins 1958
  • Michigan – Charles Woodson 1997
  • Auburn – Cam Newton 2010
  • Florida – Tim Tebow 2007
  • Florida State – Jameis Winston 2013
  • Alabama – Derrick Henry 2015
  • Georgia – Herschel Walker – 1982
  • Miami – Gino Torretta 1992
  • Texas – Ricky Williams 1998
  • Texas A&M – Johnny Manziel 2012
  • Navy – Joe Bellino 1960
  • Wisconsin – Ron Dayne 1999
  • Yale – Clinton Frank 1937