Discover which FBS schools have produced a player with a top 4 finish in the Heisman voting, but have yet to had a winner hoist the "Stiff-armed" Trophy.

Tigers on the Prowl

Clemson quarterbacks Trevor Lawrence and Deshaun Watson earned 2nd place finishes in the Heisman voting. Watson placed 2nd behind Louisville's Lamar Jackson in 2016 and Lawrence finished behind Alabama's DeVonta Smith in 2020.

Across the nation, colleges are building statues honoring their Heisman Winners, however these universities can only
hope for the day that one of their players proudly hoists college football's top individual award.

School With the Most Heisman Trophy Runner-Ups

The Heisman Trophy has been presented every year since 1935

Listed below are major colleges without a Heisman winner that have produced candidates that finished
in the top four of the voting.  Players are sorted by school and their placement in the voting.

2nd Place
3rd Place
4th Place
2006: Darren McFadden
2007: Darren McFadden
Arizona State
 1996: Jake Plummer
Boise State
  2010: Kellen Moore
  1948: Jackie Jensen
1954: Paul Larson
Clemson2016: Deshaun Watson
2020: Trevor Lawrence
2015: Deshaun Watson 
Georgia Tech
1963: Billy Lothridge
1999: Joe Hamilton
1942: Clint Castleberry
 2007: Colt Brennan
 1964: Dick Butkus
1965: Jim Grabowski
1959: Bill Burrell
1989: Anthony Thompson
Iowa State
1996: Troy Davis
  1973: David Jaynes
Kansas State
1998: Michael Bishop
 2012: Collin Klein
 1951: Babe Parelli
1950: Babe Parelli
1957: Lou Michaels
1998: Tim Couch
  1997: Randy Moss
1952: Jack Scarbath
1953: Bernie Faloney
Michigan State
 1957: Walt Kowalczyk
1963: Sherman Lewis
1955: Earl Morrall
1985: Lorenzo White
1987: Lorenzo White
  1939: Paul Christman
2007: Chase Daniel
North Carolina
1948: Charlie Justice
 1943: Otto Graham
1995: Darnell Autry
Ole Miss
 1960: Jake Gibbs
1970: Archie Manning
2003: Eli Manning
1947: Charley Connerly
1969: Archie Manning
1966: Bob Griese
1968 Leyroy Keys
1969: Mike Phipps
2000: Drew Brees
1980: Mark Herrmann
1999: Drew Brees
San Diego St.
1992: Marshall Faulk
 1993: Marshall Faulk
1986: Paul Palmer
1951: Hank Lauricella
1956: Johnny Majors
1993: Heath Shuler
1997: Peyton Manning
 1939: George Cafego
Texas Tech
  1965: Donnie Anderson
2008: Graham Harrell
1964: Jerry Rhome
1965: Howard Twilley
  2004: Alex Smith
  1990: Shawn Moore
Virginia Tech
 1999: Michael Vick
  1991: Steve Emtman
Washington St.
1997: Ryan Leaf
West Virginia
 1989: Major Harris
2006: Steve Slaton
2018: Will Grier

Discover more amazing College and NFL Stories Below