LSU National Championship and SEC Championship Football Seasons

LSU Custom Jerseys
Find a great selection of LSU Custom Jerseys and Tigers Gear
LSU Heisman Billy Cannon
Billy Cannon helped lead the Tigers to a 1958 National Championship and then gained the Heisman in 1959.
Matt Flynn Directed LSU's 2007 Championship Win Over Ohio State and Won Offensive MVP Honors

The LSU Tigers have captured three national championships and numerous SEC football titles during their many decades of success on the gridiron. Through the years, the program has emerged into a powerhouse as more and more fans flock to Tiger Stadium for a football Saturday night.  With two national championships since 2000, the Tigers football program has achieved and maintained powerhouse status.  Heisman Trophy winners have also had an impact on LSU championships.  1959 winner, Billy Cannon was an All-SEC performer on the 1958 championship Tiger squad.



LSU National Championship Seasons
YearCoach, Overall Record and SEC Record
1958Paul Dietzel 11–0, 6–0
In Coach Paul Dietzel’s fourth season, the Tigers roared through an undefeated season and earned the AP’s No. 1 ranking.  LSU featured a three-platoon system including the “Chinese Bandits.”  1959 Heisman Trophy winner Billy Cannon earned first team All-SEC honors.
2003Nick Saban 13–1, 7–1
Much like Paul Dietzel in 1958, Head Coach Nick Saban also posted a national championship in his fourth season of guiding the Bayou Bengals. Only a mid-season loss to Florida slowed down the Tigers championship run that concluded with a 21-14 victory over Oklahoma in the BCS Championship Game that was played in the Louisiana Superdome.
2007Les Miles 12–2, 6–2
Just four seasons after LSU’s 2003 title run, the Les Miles led Tigers earned a national title with an overall 12-2 record.  The Tigers captured the BCS championship with a 38-24 win over Ohio State.  Two overtime losses (at Kentucky and a home game vs Arkansas) threatened to derail the Tigers championship hopes.   But an SEC Championship Game win over Tennessee and late-season losses by other teams vaulted the Tigers into the BCS title game.



LSU SEC Football Championship Seasons
YearCoach, Overall Record and SEC Record
1935Bernie Moore  9–2, 5–0
1936Bernie Moore  9–1–1, 5–0
1958Paul Dietzel 11–0, 6–0
1961Paul Dietzel 10–1, 6–0
1970Charles McClendon 9–3,  5–0
1986Bill Arnsparger 9–3,  5–1
1988Mike Archer 10–1–1, 6–1
2001Nick Saban 10–3, 5–3
2003Nick Saban 13–1, 7–1
2007Les Miles 12–2, 6–2
2011Les Miles 13–0, 8–0