The Michigan vs. Ohio State series is regarded by many as college football's best rivalry. Discover which school leads the series, has the most national titles, Heisman Trophy winners and more!

When it comes to college football rivalries, few matchups match the intensity and history of Michigan vs Ohio State. Known simply as "The Game", this clash of Big Ten Conference titans dates all the way back to 1897 and has been a yearly tradition since 1918. Beyond just earning conference bragging rights, this series has often had national championship ramifications, with both teams fighting tooth and nail for every inch of the field. Beyond the players, the head coaches have also added fuel to the fire over the years, with the legendary "Bo" vs. "Woody" era leaving an indelible mark on the sport. Now, with Jim Harbaugh and Ryan Day leading their respective programs, The Game is as fierce and captivating as ever, with both sides determined to emerge victorious.

Click Here For

Michigan National Champions Gear.

Find T-Shirts, Sweatshirts, Caps and Collectibles that will reflect your Championship excitement

Michigan Wins its Third in a Row over Ohio State

In another classic contest, the Wolverines defeated the Buckeyes 30-24. Michigan RB Blake Corum rushed for two TDs and Michigan held off a last-minute Ohio State drive to gain their third straight victory over the Buckeyes.

Bragging Rights for The Game

The Ohio State vs Michigan series has fans from Ann Arbor and Columbus seeking bragging rights they can use in discussions with fans from the opposing side.  The winner of this heated contest often decides who will represent their division in the Big Ten Championship Game and has vaulted the winning team to the Rose Bowl and a chance to play for a national championship. With that in mind, we've analyzed the Wolverines vs. Buckeyes series in areas that extend far beyond wins and losses in the series.  

"The Game" Series Facts

Discover which school has earned the most series wins, national titles, Big 10 championships and so much more throughout this heated rivalry.

 CategoryMichiganOhio State
Series Wins6151
Longest win streak 9 (1901-1909)8 (2012 - 2019)
Biggest Series Win86-0 (1902)38-0 (1935)
 National Titles128
College Football Playoffs25
 Big 10 Titles 44 39
 Heisman Trophy Winners37
Pro Football Hall of Fame Members910
Tom Brady (3x)

Bo vs Woody - The 10 Year War

The rivalry between Bo Schembechler and Woody Hayes was one of the greatest in the sport. It began in 1969 when Bo became the Michigan Coach

Schembechler, who had been an assistant under Hayes at Ohio State, won his first contest against the Buckeyes.

The 10 year war between Bo Schembechler and Woody Hayes was more than just a rivalry. It was a bloodbath of strength and determination between two of the greatest coaches in collegiate gridiron history. The games pitted some of the strongest teams from Ohio State and Michigan against each other, with both sides vying for victory. The Wolverines entered each game undefeated during the peak of the rivalry, only managing to eke out a single win in 1971. Michigan gained the upper hand at the end of this coaching rivalry with Michigan besting Coach Hayes' Buckeyes the last three times he faced the Wolverines.

Beyond the wins and losses, it was the intense passion and mutual respect between Schembechler and Hayes that made their battles unforgettable. These two legends will forever be remembered as pillars of the sport, and their legacy lives on in the dedicated fans and players that still carry on their traditions today.

Ohio State Bragging Points

They won the Game of the Century.  The No. 1 ranked Buckeyes defeated No. 2 Michigan by a 42-39 score on Nov. 18, 2016 in Columbus.  The game marked the first time that the teams faced off as the nation's top ranked teams.  The victory pushed Ohio State to a slot in the BCS Championship game.

Ohio State has the 'Horseshoe'! Also known as 'The Shoe', Ohio Stadium proudly seats 102,780 fans.

The complete domination of the series since 2000.  The Buckeyes have beat the Wolverines 16 times since the beginning of this century.

More College Football Playoff Appearances! OSU leads Michigan 5-2

Back-to-Back Heisman Winners. Archie Griffin won the Heisman in 1974 and 1975. No other university has accomplished that feat.

Woody! Former Ohio State Head Coach Woody Hayes led the program from 1951-1978. Hayes led the Buckeyes to 13 Big Ten Titles, three consensus national championships and two more claimed national titles.

The University actually has a mascot!  Brutus Buckeye is one of the most popular collegiate mascots and is featured on national TV ads and beyond.  Michigan does not have a mascot.

Nobody dots the i like Ohio State!  The Ohio State University Marching Band is famous for dotting the i in Script Ohio.  It's one of college football's great traditions.

Michigan Bragging Points

They have The Big House in Ann Arbor!  Michigan Stadium seats more than 107,000 fans and has a great nickname!

More Big Ten football titles and national championships:  The wolverines football program easily surpasses the Buckeyes in both categories. Michigan has the most recent national championship with their 2023 national title.

"The Victors":  Michigan's fight song is regarded as the game's top fight song by many fans.  The song was penned following an 1898 victory over Chicago and has been firing up fans ever since.

The Winged Helmets. The most famous helmets in college football

Michigan won the epic Snow Bowl in 2021. The Wolverines victory in Ann Arbor snapped OSU's eight-game winning streak in the series. Following the thrilling victory, UM won the Big 10 title and advanced Jim Harbaugh's squad to the playoffs.

Tom Terrific: Former Michigan quarterback Tom Brady is regarded as the greatest NFL quarterback of all time.

Discover more amazing college football facts and stories