Kyler Murray - 2018 Heisman Trophy Winner

Kyler Murray became the seventh Oklahoma Sooner to win college football’s top individual award when he was voted as the 2018 Heisman Trophy winner.  The junior quarterback led the Sooners to an 11-1 regular season and Big 12 Championship Game win over Texas.  With the win over the Longhorns, Murray’s Sooners also advanced to the College Football Playoffs.

Murray passed for 4,054 yards and 40 touchdowns while rushing for 892 yards and 11 more scores.  The Sooners signal caller totaled 2,167 Heisman voting points, placing him will ahead of Alabama QB Tua Tagovailoa (1,871 points) and Ohio State QB Dwayne Haskins (783 points)

Murray’s lofting of the Heisman Trophy marked back-to-back seasons for OU quarterbacks to receive the bronze trophy.  The year before, Oklahoma QB Baker Mayfield broke a nine-year Sooners Heisman drought by being named the 2017 recipient.  Murray’s award-winning season helped the OU program to further cement themselves as one of the top Heisman Trophy winning schools in the nation. 

Kyler Murray Cardinals Jersey
Discover a great selection of Kyler Murray Gear
Oklahoma Gameday Traditions

Oklahoma Gameday Traditions

Discover the unique OU traditions such as "Boomer Sooner" and the Sooner Schooner!

Top Heisman Schools

Top Heisman Trophy Schools

Discover where Oklahoma ranks among Heisman Trophy producing schools