Heisman Trophy
Winners in the NFL
Discover where college
football's top honorees
landed in the NFL Draft
They Played Like Champs For
It certainly doesn’t hurt a Heisman Trophy candidate to be featured on a
national championship contending team.  The accompanying media
exposure often provides the additional hype that could later influence
the Heisman voting.  The Catch-22 to that argument is that is because
of the player displaying "Heisman" talent that the team is positioned for
a national title to begin with.  Listed below are the Heisman winners
that also played for national champions.

HEISMAN           NAME                        UNIVERSITY

1938                Davey O’Brien                  TCU
1941                Bruce Smith                Minnesota
1943                Angelo Bertelli           Notre Dame
1945                Doc Blanchard                 Army
1947                Johnny Lujack            Notre Dame
1949                Leon Hart                    Notre Dame
1964                John Huarte               Notre Dame
1976                Tony Dorsett              Pittsburgh
1993                Charlie Ward              Florida State
Danny Wuerffel            Florida
Charles Woodson        Michigan
Matt Leinart                     USC      
Mark Ingram                  Alabama  
Cam Newton                   Auburn
Jameis Winston         Florida State
Cam Newton
The 2010 Heisman winner led the
Tigers to the National
Championship that season.
Heisman Winners That Played for
National Champions
Heisman Trophy Winner Danny Wuerffel
Danny Wuerffel Engineered Steve
Spurrier's Fun-N-Gun offense to a
Heisman Trophy in 1996 and the
Gator's first national championship!
Charles Woodson
After edging out Peyton Manning in
the Heisman chase, Michigan won
a 1997 national championship